Grief is a complex emotion that can manifest in different ways depending on the situation. There are different types of grief, each with its own unique characteristics, and it’s important to understand and recognize these differences to better manage the grieving process.

Acute grief

Acute grief is the most common type of grief and is characterized by intense feelings of sadness, anger, and disbelief. It is usually the first stage of grief and can last for a few weeks to a few months. During this period, a person may experience a range of physical and emotional symptoms, including:

  • Crying and tearfulness.
  • Difficulty sleeping or sleeping too much.
  • Changes in appetite.
  • Fatigue or lack of energy.
  • Irritability or restlessness.
  • Difficulty concentrating or making decisions.
  • Feeling numb or disconnected from others.
  • Avoidance of reminders of the loss.

Integrated grief

Integrated grief is another type of grief that occurs when a person learns to live with the loss and incorporates it into their life. This type of grief involves finding meaning in the loss and moving forward while still remembering the person or thing that was lost. While the symptoms of integrated grief are less intense than acute grief, a person may still experience periods of sadness or yearning for the person or thing that was lost.

Problematic grieving

However, some people may experience problematic grieving, also known as complicated grief or prolonged grief disorder, which occurs when a person experiences intense and prolonged grief that lasts for more than six months. It can be triggered by the loss of a loved one, but it can also occur in response to other types of loss, such as divorce or the loss of a job. Symptoms of problematic grieving can include:

  • Intense feelings of sadness, guilt, or anger that persist over time.
  • A sense of disbelief or inability to accept the loss.
  • Difficulty functioning in daily life, such as problems with work, relationships, or self-care.
  • Social withdrawal or isolation.
  • Difficulty trusting others or forming new relationships.

If you’re experiencing symptoms of problematic grieving, it’s important to seek help from a mental health professional. Treatment for problematic grieving may involve therapy, medication, or a combination of both. The goal of treatment is to help a person process their emotions and develop healthy coping mechanisms.

In addition to seeking help when grief becomes problematic, it’s important for individuals to have a support system in place. This can include family, friends, or support groups. Support can provide a safe and comforting space to process emotions, share memories, and work through the grieving process. With the right support, it’s possible to move forward and find PEACE after a loss.